Let Love Dictate Everything We Say and Do

The following incident happened some time in July 2023.

I was driving when I noticed someone in the car on my left signalling me, pointing to my tire. I slowed down and parked on the shoulder of the next street. The driver of the car on my left followed and parked close by. He came up to me and told me that I had a flat. I thought there was an emergency spare in the trunk but there wasn’t. Since I did not have my phone with me, I asked him to help me look up tire service companies and call them. Unfortunately, most of them close on Sundays. The only one that didn’t did not have the right replacement tire. He finally called a towing truck and had my car delivered to the tire service company he recommended. Afterwards he drove me home; he even offered to give me a lift the next day.

It turned out that he and his daughter are Christians. They did have some place to go that day. They stayed because they knew I needed their help. They spent about two hours helping me—a mere stranger on the street. 

Cesar and Alicia, you have been a godsend.

Jesus shows us that love is the greatest thing in the world. Torn by war and violence, the world is full of hatred. Only love can drive out hatred. 

So let us make this promise to ourselves on this Christmas Day: From now on, let love dictate everything we say and do.

This entry was posted in Being Christian and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.