The Trinity Doctrine

The Trinity doctrine was formulated over the course of several centuries after the death of Jesus Christ. The doctrine defines God as three separate but equal persons: God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. The Catholic Church, the Orthodox Churches and most Christian Churches support the Trinity doctrine, but I beg to differ.

  • I believe that there is only God the Father and Jesus Christ the Son.

    We read in Genesis 1:26:

    And God said, Let us make man in our image, after our likeness: and let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over the cattle, and over all the earth, and over every creeping thing that creepeth upon the earth.

    We read in John 16:28:

    I came forth from the Father, and am come into the world: again I leave the world, and I go to the Father.

  • I believe that Jesus Christ is God’s only begotten Son.

    We read in John 17:24:

    Father, I will that where I am, they also whom thou hast given me may be with me; that they may see my glory which thou hast given me, because thou hast loved me before the creation of the world.

    We read in Matthew 11:27:

    All things are delivered to me by my Father. And no one knoweth the Son, but the Father: neither doth any one know the Father, but the Son, and he to whom it shall please the Son to reveal him.

    We read in Matthew 16:15–17:

    Jesus saith to them: But whom do you say that I am? Simon Peter answered and said: Thou art Christ, the Son of the living God. And Jesus answering, said to him: Blessed art thou, Simon Barjona: because flesh and blood hath not revealed it to thee, but my Father who is in heaven.

  • I believe that Jesus Christ is subject to God the Father.

    We read in John 4:34:

    Jesus saith to them: My meat is to do the will of him that sent me, that I may perfect his work.

    We read in John 5:19:

    Then Jesus answered, and said to them: Amen, amen, I say unto you, the Son cannot do any thing of himself, but what he seeth the Father doing: for what things soever he doth, these the Son also doth in like manner.

    We read in John 5:30:

    I cannot of myself do any thing. As I hear, so I judge: and my judgment is just; because I seek not my own will, but the will of him that sent me.

    We read in John 7:16:

    Jesus answered them, and said: My doctrine is not mine, but his that sent me.

    We read in John 8:28–29:

    Jesus therefore said to them: When you shall have lifted up the Son of man, then shall you know, that I am he, and that I do nothing of myself, but as the Father hath taught me, these things I speak: And he that sent me, is with me, and he hath not left me alone: for I do always the things that please him.

    We read in John 12:49:

    For I have not spoken of myself; but the Father who sent me, he gave me commandment what I should say, and what I should speak.

    We read in John 14:28:

    … If you loved me, you would indeed be glad, because I go to the Father: for the Father is greater than I.

  • I believe that the Holy Spirit proceeds from God the Father.

    We read in Joel 2:28–29:

    And it shall come to pass afterward, that I will pour out my spirit upon all flesh; and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, your old men shall dream dreams, your young men shall see visions: And also upon the servants and upon the handmaids in those days will I pour out my spirit.

    We read in John 15:26:

    But when the Helper comes, whom I will send to you from the Father, the Spirit of truth, who proceeds from the Father, he will bear witness about me.

    We read in Matthew 10:20:

    For it is not ye that speaketh but the Spirit of Your Father which speaketh in ye.

  • I believe that God the Father and Jesus the Son are separate beings. Even Jesus Himself does not know the exact day and hour of His Second Coming.

    We read in Matthew 24:36:

    But of that day and hour no one knoweth, not the angels of heaven, but the Father alone.

    We read in Mark 13:29–32:

    So you also when you shall see these things come to pass, know ye that it is very nigh, even at the doors. Amen I say to you, that this generation shall not pass, until all these things be done. Heaven and earth shall pass away, but my word shall not pass away. But of that day or hour no man knoweth, neither the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but the Father.

In addition, Paul’s letters never included the Holy Spirit in his salutations:

Grace to you and peace from God our Father, and the Lord Jesus Christ. (Romans)

Grace be unto you, and peace from God our Father, and from the Lord Jesus Christ. (1 Corinthians)

Grace be to you, and peace from God our Father, and from the Lord Jesus Christ. (2 Corinthians)

Grace be to you and peace from God the Father, and from our Lord Jesus Christ. (Galatians)

Grace be to you, and peace from God our Father, and from the Lord Jesus Christ. (Ephesians)

Grace be unto you, and peace from God our Father, and from the Lord Jesus Christ. (Philippians)

Grace be unto you, and peace from God our Father, and from the Lord Jesus Christ. (Colossians)

Grace be unto you, and peace from God our Father, and from the Lord Jesus Christ. (1 Thessalonians)

Grace unto you, and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ. (2 Thessalonians)

Grace, mercy, and peace from God our Father and Jesus Christ our Lord. (1 Timothy)

Grace, mercy, and peace from God the Father and Christ Jesus our Lord. (2 Timothy)

Grace, mercy, and peace from God the Father and the Lord Jesus Christ our Saviour. (Titus)

Grace to you, and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ. (Philemon)

It is clear from Jesus’ words and from Paul’s letters that there is only God the Father and Jesus the Son. The Trinity doctrine of three separate, equal persons in one God is an artificial construct.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

This entry was posted in Being Christian, Bible Study, Roman Catholic Church and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.