Receiving Holy Communion

These days Catholics are making a big fuss about divorced and remarried Catholics receiving holy communion. Catholics believe that when they receive holy communion, they are receiving Jesus in their hearts.

At the Last Supper Jesus told His disciples to break bread in His memory. He never said anything about being present in the broken bread:

And he took bread, and gave thanks, and brake it, and gave unto them, saying, This is my body which is given for you: this do in remembrance of me. (Luke 22:19)

First used in the 11th century, transubstantiation was formally adopted by the Catholic Church as a Church doctrine in 1215. Alphonsus de Liguori, Doctor of the Church, wrote, “With regard to the power of priests over the real body of Jesus Christ, it is of faith that when they pronounce the words of consecration the Incarnate Word has obliged himself to obey and to come into their hands under the sacramental species.”

What arrogance to think that Jesus will obey the priests! What arrogance to think that it is not enough for Jesus to die once but has to do so over and over! Such, unfortunately, is human thinking.

Here is what Jesus said about holy communion:

I always break the bread Myself, I always give the water of life Myself, and then it will always partake of My Supper at My table, which is richly laden so that no soul wanting to be My guest will lack nourishment. Yet by this I do not mean an outward practice, I Am not satisfied with the fact that you perform external rituals and acts in the belief that I Myself will then be within you, that you unite yourselves with Me when you take part in the ceremonies which you understand as the Lord’s Supper, as holy communion…. They will only ever remain mere external acts and rituals if you do not wholeheartedly desire to hear My Word, to be addressed by Me…. if your soul does not hunger and thirst for the bread of heaven and the water of life: for My Word. (The Word of God, Proclamation 7909)

Think of how I want you to understand the Words, that you should invite Me in so that I may hold communion with you and you with Me…. and how you turned My Words “This do in remembrance of Me….&rdqo; into a process which, again, cannot have any effect on your soul unless you live a life of such profound love that I Myself can be present within you. (The Word of God, Proclamation 8688)

Jesus preaches the Gospel of love, which must come from the heart. He does not care about external rites or acts.

It cannot be denied that so-called “traditions” contain much spoilt information, since so many customs and bad habits, as well as wrong doctrines, have been derived from My doctrine, which I Myself preached on earth, so that the pure Gospel of love…. the essence of My doctrine…. has been pushed into the background whilst human additions are claiming foremost attention. (The Word of God, Proclamation 6732)

He should take his life on earth more seriously and not believe that I will be contentwith completely worthless performances…. which also include the “receiving of sacraments”, which are not sacraments at all…. because only what a faith awakened by love may receive from Me directly can have a sanctifying effect, thus when a union with Me has been established through love. (The Word of God, Proclamation 6732)

Then a person will be so abundantly blessed by Me that he will be able to reach perfection on this earth…. Then all sacramental blessings will manifest themselves in the person…. He will receive the baptism of the spirit…. in turn he will be a teacher and messenger to his fellow human beings; he will always be allowed to partake of the bread from heaven, of My flesh and My b1ood…. (The Word of God, Proclamation 6732)

Every kind of formality, however, will destroy this life and something purely external cannot achieve an inner change. (The Word of God, Proclamation 6732)

There is no point in making a big fuss over what is not really holy communion. As true followers of Christ, we need to make sure that we keep Jesus’ commandments and do everything with love, in spirit and in truth.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

This entry was posted in Being Christian, Bible Study, Roman Catholic Church, The Word of God received through Bertha Dudde and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.