Donating to Charitable Organizations

Christians and Catholics alike are familiar with Matthew 25:34–36, which reads:

Then shall the king say to them that shall be on his right hand: Come, ye blessed of my Father, possess you the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. For I was hungry, and you gave me to eat; I was thirsty, and you gave me to drink; I was a stranger, and you took me in: Naked, and you covered me: sick, and you visited me: I was in prison, and you came to me.

So when it comes to donating money to charitable organizations, they readily open their wallets. Unfortunately, the donated monies rarely reach the intended target.

Take the Missionaries of Charity, founded by Mother Teresa, for example. According to MailOnline, doctors visiting some of the missions in Calcutta “observed a significant lack of hygiene, even unfit conditions, as well as a shortage of actual care, inadequate food, and no painkillers.”

My question is, where are the millions of dollars the Missionaries of Charity rakes in every year?

Take the Order of Friars Minor, for example. It was reported on December 19, 2014 that the Order is on the verge of bankruptcy because of questionable financial activities.

My question is, how come the Friars, who have made a vow of poverty, have so much money in the first place?

If you really want to help the hungry, donate food to your local food bank. Your donation will help someone in need.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

This entry was posted in Being Christian, Bible Study, Roman Catholic Church and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.