The Joy in Receiving

2014/11/09

I was away for a month. When I returned, the grass on both my front lawn and my backyard was at least two feet high. I managed to cut the front lawn right after my return but was unable to do the backyard because of the weather. Today I took out my inefficient electric lawnmower and attempted to cut the two-foot high grass in my backyard. It was a backbreaking task.

My neighbour was cleaning the windows of his house when he saw me trying to mow through the tall grass. Seeing how I struggled to mow the lawn, he offered to finish up for me. I thought for a second. I wanted to refuse him, but then I thought, there is joy in giving and there is joy in receiving.

I don’t know whether my neighbour is a Christian or not, but today he did exactly what Jesus told us to do: to be the light of the world. Not only did he mow and trim my backyard, but he did my front lawn as well.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

This entry was posted in Being Christian and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.